Migrate to work

Closure of NT General Skilled Migration (GSM) nomination applications for 2023-24

The number of NT nomination applications received under the GSM program has now exceeded the available allocations for the 2023-24 program year.

MigrationNT will stop accepting new GSM nomination applications from close of business on Monday 4 December 2023.

Existing applications that have already been lodged through the online MigrationNT portal prior to this time will continue to be assessed under existing eligibility criteria, and eligible applicants will be issued nominations, subject to availability of allocations. Some eligible applications may need to be placed on hold until new allocations are received in the 2024-25 program year (commencing 1 July 2024). You will be contacted via our online portal if this applies to your application.

 Those who have visas expiring should seek professional advice on their visa options and ensure that they remain lawful during their stay in Australia.

MigrationNT continues to advocate for nomination allocation numbers that meet the needs of the Territory.

Visas that need a nomination from an employer

General skilled migration visas

These visas are for young, skilled people with good levels of English:

The subclasses 491 and 190 visas need a nomination from an Australian state or territory government such as Australia's Northern Territory Government.

MINT program

The Migration Innovation Northern Territory (MINT) program is an initiative owned by the Darwin Innovation Hub and Paspalis Asset Management and supported by the Northern Territory Government.

The program assists overseas nationals get Northern Territory Government nomination. They need to show commitment to involvement with the Darwin Innovation Hub.

For further information, go to the Paspalis website.

If you are a UK citizen

The Innovation and Early Careers Skills Exchange Pilot (IECSEP) is a new visa pathway that provides skilled UK citizens the opportunity to take their next career step in Australia. IECSEP is open to all sectors.

The IECSEP offers 2 streams for eligible participants:

  • Innovation stream - stays of up to 3 years for highly skilled and experienced innovators.
  • Early Careers stream - stays of up to one year for tertiary-qualified 21 to 45-year-olds, who have worked at least 3 months in their current job.

Applicants need to demonstrate they have confirmed employment in Australia. 

Want to know more?

To find out more information about IECSEP, including skill level requirements, go to Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website or email aukfta.iecsep@dfat.gov.au.

Skills Development Exchange

The Skills Development Exchange Pilot (SDE Pilot) gives organisations in Australia and Indonesia the opportunity to send employees to undertake workplace placements for up to 12 months in the other country. The SDE Pilot aims to build the workplace skills and cross-cultural competency of the pilot’s participants, while strengthening cooperation and cultural understanding between Australia and Indonesia. The SDE Pilot was agreed under the Indonesia Australia Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (IA-CEPA). 

It is available for individuals working in:

  • agribusiness and food processing
  • the creative economy
  • financial and insurances services
  • the green economy
  • information media and telecommunications services
  • mining, engineering, and related technical services
  • tourism and travel related services
  • and other sectors, as agreed by Australia and Indonesia on a case-by-case basis.

Learn more about the SDE Pilot eligibility criteria on the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website or email iacepa.skills@dfat.gov.au.

If you are a New Zealand citizen

If you are a New Zealand citizen, your transition to life in Australia's Northern Territory couldn't be easier. Upon setting foot in Australia, you will automatically receive a Special Category visa (SCV). This grants you the freedom to live, work, visit and study in Australia indefinitely, and qualify for citizenship after 4 years.

From 1 July 2023, all New Zealand citizens who meet relevant criteria and hold a SCV can apply directly for citizenship (by conferral). Criteria includes having lived in Australia for 4 years.

If you are a New Zealand permanent resident, you need to apply for a suitable visa in order to enter Australia.

Check your eligibility and visas options on the Australian Government's Department of Home Affairs website.

To work in some occupations you will need to meet registration and licensing requirements and your employers may require evidence of qualifications and work experience.

Your family

If you are a New Zealand citizen, holding an SCV but your family members are not New Zealand citizens, they may be eligible for a New Zealand Citizen Family Relationship (Temporary) visa (subclass 461).

Skilled and employer sponsored visa programs

If you are not eligible for SCV, you may be eligible for a skilled and/or employer sponsored visa programs such as:

Read the NT migration occupation list to see if your skills are in demand in the Northern Territory.


Migrate to the Territory, Australia

View the transcript for the Migrate to the Territory, Australia video.

Page last updated 8 April 2024